Are eggs vegetarian or non-vegetarian? Scientists finally put an end to the debate


Many people have reasoned that eggs are non-vegetarian since they come from a hen – a living thing.

New Delhi: Scientists have finally given an answer to the long-standing question of whether eggs are vegetarian or non-vegetarian, which might put an end to the debate once and for all.

Well, the answer according to scientists is that eggs are very much vegetarian.

Many people have reasoned that eggs are non-vegetarian since they come from a hen – a living thing.

However, scientists explain that there are three parts of the egg – eggshell, egg yolk, and egg white. The eggwhites (albumen) only contains protein and the egg yolk is mostly made up of proteins, cholesterol, and fat.

The eggs that we consume on almost a daily basis do not have embryos. This means that the eggs probably have not developed enough to be at the stage where one would be eating an actual animal/bird.

Once a hen is 6-months-old, it lays eggs every one to one and a half days. However, it isn't necessary for the hen to mate before laying her eggs. These eggs are known as unfertilised eggs. The eggs that we buy from the local markets are also mostly unfertilised.

Please Note : It doesn't mean that all vegitarians can start eating eggs, many hens are dying in farms... Please note it...

Source : zee news India 


Like it? Share with your friends!

38
38 shares

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More From: SciTech

Hey there!

Forgot your password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Close
of

Processing files…