Here are the steps to find your lost device using Google account
- Your device is connected with your Google account.
- Your device has access to the internet.
- Allowed Find My Device to locate your device (turned on by default). This can changed in the Google Settings app.
- Allowed Find My Device to lock your device and erase its data (turned off by default).
If you lose an Android phone, tablet, or Wear watch, you can find, lock, or erase it. If you've added a Google Account to your Android device, Find My Device is automatically turned on.
To use Find My Device, your lost device must enable these functions:
- Be turned on
- Be signed in to a Google Account
- Go to android.com/find and sign in to your Google Account.
- If you have more than one device, click the lost device at the top of the screen.
- The device gets a notification.
- On the map, see about where the device is.
- The location is approximate and might not be accurate.
- If your device can't be found, you'll see its last known location, if available.
- Pick what you want to do. If needed, first click Enable lock & erase.
- Play sound
- Rings your device at full volume for 5 minutes, even if it's set to silent or vibrate.
- Locks your device with your PIN, pattern, or password. If you don't have a lock, you can set one. To help someone return your device to you, you can add a message or phone number to the lock screen.
- Erase: Permanently deletes all data on your device (but might not delete SD cards). After you erase, Find My Device won't work on the device.
To locate your phone